my lovely lady bundts

17 May

…check it out!

It’s the least I could do for you, getting that Fergie song stuck in your head. You’re welcome.

So a few months back I was going through a mini bundt cake phase for various and sundry reasons*, and bought a bunch of mini bundt pans from World Market. Because how cute are mini bundt pans?

Right?

I know.

Super cute.

And for me not being a big cake fan (don’t start), mini bundts are actually quite splendid I think, because you can get that just-right amount of cake without having a whole honking cake leftover and having to be all, “WTF am I going to do with the rest of this cake? And how the shit am I supposed to transport it?”

So mini bundts. Much better.

And just as easy as cupcakes, once you get the fill amount correct. Too much uncooked batter, say, filling it to the brim of the pan or just barely under, and the cakes will overflow, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but they don’t sit as nicely and as level-y when you turn them out. But if you only fill them about ¾ of the way? Muuuch better. Use your favorite chocolate cake recipe—any will do, really. And for the glaze on top, you can use your favorite as well.

But HWHUT! if I don’t have a favorite?

Well! Then here’s one to give a go:

  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine the sweetened condensed milk and chocolate chips. Cook, stirring constantly, until the chips are melted and the mixture is smooth. Do not allow it to bubble. Remove from the heat and stir in vanilla. Cool slightly before drizzling over a cake. If you want to make this ahead, it can be cooled and reheated in the microwave.

(BTW – that glaze recipe was pulled from AllRecipes.com.)

(And Note: I haven’t actually made this recipe, but it sounds delicious and relatively easy, and based on my experience with frosting and glazes, I’m going to go ahead and give it a thumbs up just from just the look of it. Although I’m wary of the reheating in the microwave process. Let me know how that goes.)

And when it’s all said and done, take your fork and dive into this. Yes, this:


You won’t regret it.

And again: You’re welcome.

*NO, I’m not going to tell you my reasons, because then you might steal my brilliant plan and I will be a sad, mini bundt cake-less panda.

mmmmm….bundty…..

3 Responses to “my lovely lady bundts”

  1. The Swede May 18, 2010 at 12:27 AM #

    “Your” brilliant plan? 🙂

    • mollystrz May 18, 2010 at 7:15 AM #

      Yes, actually, the mini bundts portion of the plan was, indeed, MY idea.

  2. Annie May 18, 2010 at 8:33 AM #

    And also, ‘lovely lady bundts’ came from a delirious phone conversation, and I have not gotten Fergie out of my head since….damn you, lovely lady bundts!

Leave a Reply

