photo friday, except on saturday

8 May

I wanted to start participating in Calliope’s Photo Friday this week, and of course I am late to the party. I blame it on being out of my natural environment, but truthfully, I’m just kind of an asshat sometimes. Moving on.

**********

This week Calliope’s Photo Friday theme was “work desk.” So if you’ve ever wanted a glimpse into how McPolish works, well, here you go.

For the record, this is actually quite neat, comparably. Above the desk, which you can’t really see in the picture, are photos of me in various bridesmaid dresses with various brides, along with a photo of a broken Styrofoam cooler with the words, “Just when you think you won’t have any fun, someone goes and falls through a cooler.”

I’ll give those profound words a minute to sink in.

A few years back, before I moved out here to DC, some of the peeps I worked with at my waitressing gig threw me a surprise going away party. There was spice cake. Also a lot of vodka. I’m almost positive there was dancing. And I know there were ribbons. Many several ribbons that they hid around the house where the party was thrown, all of which I had to hunt down. Each ribbon had a different phrase on it, one of which was, “I can dress myself!” For a very long time that one hung on my closet door. It might still be there, actually. But this one, this one was my favorite, and while I’ve on occasion pinned it to my skirt and worn it out on the town for a night, the majority of time it hangs over my desk to remind me what’s important.

Because really, isn’t that all we can ask of ourselves? Sometimes? Hopefully? At least every other Wednesday? Maybe?

Sigh.

3 Responses to “photo friday, except on saturday”

  1. calliope May 9, 2010 at 11:25 AM #

    wow. falling through a cooler, eh??

    SO glad you are participating- and with such a nice, clean desk too. well done.

    • mollystrz May 9, 2010 at 12:39 PM #

      Yes. Falling through a cooler is ALWAYS the sign of goodfuntimes ahead. Trust me. Heh.

  2. Megan (Best of Fates) May 13, 2010 at 9:53 PM #

    Ooh – I love seeing people’s desks, it’s such an interesting view into their lives!

Leave a Reply

