creating a monster

5 Apr

Last week I had a heart-to-heart with one of my friends and coworkers, the illustrious Stephanie, a conversation that went something like this*:

Me: I have Photoshop on my computer. I have no idea how to use it. I’m thinking about getting one of those “For Dummies” books from the library.

Stephanie: Or I could just show you. You can bring your laptop and we can go to Cosi and I’ll show you, because I’m wicked smart when it comes to Photoshop.

Me: Can we eat an obscene amount of Cosi’s free bread samples?

Stephanie: Duh.**

So last Friday found us huddled in a booth at Cosi as Stephanie explained some Photoshop basics to me. Like what a “layer” is. And how to put text on a photo. And how to save it properly. And what some of the other knobs and whirlies and dohickeys at the top of the program’s screen mean.

Interwebers, I kid you not, it was like a whole new world opened up for me.

And yes, this does, in fact, mean that I will now be displaying for you upon this blog over-Photoshopped photos for your viewing pleasure.

And maybe just because I’m showing off.

Showing that I can do something like THIS!:

 

Is art, I tell you.

ART.

[sniffs haughtily] Art is completely subjective, you know.

Don’t hate on my new skillz.

*It’s the general idea of the conversation, people. And not that Stephanie was arrogantly tooting her own horn or something about her Photoshop skillz. She might not say so out loud, but I’ll happily say it: She IS wicked smart on the Photoshop.

**Do not judge us. You love Cosi free bread samples, too. Admit it.

3 Responses to “creating a monster”

  1. Stephanie Y. April 6, 2010 at 8:06 AM #

    All I have to say is that I must have mad teaching skills because your photoshop skills are just so subtle. I mean, the smudging in the right top corner of the photo is beautiful. It is art.

  2. Molly April 6, 2010 at 8:08 AM #

    Right? I’m glad you picked up on that. I debated on whether or not I wanted to take the piece in that direction or not – to be subversive or obtuse about my smudging. It’s so trying, sometimes, to make my art speak.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. promises, promises « McPolish.com - April 21, 2010

    […] flush against one another. Which I cannot seem to make my computer do. Apparently am losing my PShop skillz. So soon. So […]

Leave a Reply

