csb march: pineapple upside down cake

20 Mar

Hey! Look at me! I’m back in the Cake Slice Bakers game! It was touch and go there for awhile, let me tell you, and because of some new (totally understandable) rules, if I didn’t bake this month I would have been kicked out of my secret interwebs baking club.

And that would suck.

I hope to have a more detailed post on the adventure of making this cake for you later this week, but in the meantime, just look how pretty it is.

This was a pretty easy cake to make, and kind of fun, because, well, I got to use my cast iron skillet, and Interwebs, I lurrrrrv using my cast iron skillet. I am a nerd for my cast iron skillet. I just can’t help myself. Sometimes I like to just prop my cast iron skillet on the couch next to me and hang out. We watch Food Network and talk about all the things we’d like to make together.

What?

Note: Maybe not so much on bleaching the hell out of your bathroom while you wait for the cake to bake and before typing things on the interwebs.

Whatever.

Enjoy!

8 Responses to “csb march: pineapple upside down cake”

  1. dawn March 20, 2010 at 7:12 PM #

    The cake looks absolutely perfect. I envy you your cast iron skillet…I used a cake pan for mine and wonder if the skillet would have made mine look as yummy and light as yours.

  2. Lori Ann March 20, 2010 at 7:26 PM #

    What a fun(ny) post! I have cast iron skillet envy now! Looks like it turned out really well with the skillet. Pretty pictures!

  3. Leslie Limon March 20, 2010 at 9:14 PM #

    Gorgeous cake! You’re the only one I’ve seen that used the cast iron skillet.

    Happy Spring!

  4. katie March 21, 2010 at 4:36 AM #

    maybe we could set a play date for our skillets. I think this cake is an example of why I should get my skillet out more often. Your cake looks yummy.

  5. jo March 21, 2010 at 6:10 AM #

    Great job on your cake and it looks great.

  6. Katie March 21, 2010 at 10:30 AM #

    Your cake looks yummy and so glossy. Love how you used a skillet – the traditional way of cooking it. Looks fab

  7. Caroline March 22, 2010 at 8:12 PM #

    Your cake looks great! I love cast-iron cookware, I used mine to bake mine, too!

  8. Monica H March 24, 2010 at 12:01 AM #

    Glad you made the cake and you’re not being kicked out 🙂

    I like all your overlappping pineapple slices on there. yummy!

Leave a Reply

