to the land of snow and bears

4 Mar

By the time you read this, I will be on a plane to Anchorage. Actually, depending on what time you read this I will be on a plane to either Newark, Seattle OR Anchorage. No one ever said getting across the country was easy.

I’m going to visit my friend Captain Klein for a week, see the start of the Iditarod, and eat reindeer sausage. And possibly an elk steak. I’m not sure Captain Klein has the interwebs at her house, so forgive me if I don’t so much post. She’s also apparently growing a small farm in her house, as I was informed that not the usual two, but three dogs will be in residence while I’m there. I’m okay with that. Alaska is cold. Dogs are warm.

I’m told we’ll be spending a lot of time doing outdoorsy things, so I’ve prepared.

Snow pants.  (And parka.)

Base layers.

Socks.

I don’t actually have snow boots, but I’m assured that I can buy some when I get up there. Which is good because all of the stores down here sold out like their asses were on fire when the snowpocolypse hit. If only I had been so forward-thinking.

Oh well. Worst case scenario I dig deep into my old school pockets again. I’m not going to let lack of footwear get in my way of exploring America’s last frontier. Hopefully by snowmobile. Or snowshoe. Or maybe on the back of an elk. Because trust me when I say that when hanging out with Captain Klein, one just never knows what will happen. But it is guaranteed to be an adventure.

6 Responses to “to the land of snow and bears”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. where my love of storytelling may prove unwelcomed « McPolish.com - May 25, 2010

    […] to practice law,” it read at the top. “The Conference has been requested to prepare a report on CAPTAIN KLEIN, who is submitting an application to […]

  2. the truth « McPolish.com - July 21, 2010

    […] I never lied about being the outdoor type. I like doing outdoor activities quite  a lot, actually (see: the majority of my trip to the Land of Snow and Bears), but I have never purported to be willing to sleep in tents. I have always promoted my love of air […]

  3. listical « McPolish.com - December 8, 2010

    […] AND ALSO, I accomplished with flying colors my goal of visiting two new states: Delaware and Alaska. […]

  4. disaster preparedness « McPolish.com - January 3, 2011

    […] then came Alaska, where they wear nothing BUT snow boots and grizzly bear furs all year long. I borrowed boots from […]

  5. photo friday: here comes the sun « McPolish.com - June 10, 2011

    […] one of the last nights I was in Anchorage, Captain Deb and I drove out to Alyeska to have dinner on top of a mountain in celebration of both […]

  6. photo friday: walk this way « McPolish.com - February 15, 2013

    […] made it all sorts of lovely. Plus, I got to break out my snowpants for the first time since Alaska, so, yay for […]

Leave a Reply

