it’s like, art…and stuff.

2 Mar

The Freer Gallery, as I mentioned, is full of arty things and whatnot. I like art, and I often find it inspiring. Maybe not in the way the artist would have hoped, but inspiring nonetheless. Is there really one right way to be inspired, though? Isn’t simply being inspired by art enough? Who is to say what is right or wrong when it comes to art? Who’s to say I shouldn’t shut up and stop being so pretentiously thinky?

Because sometimes I just find art pretty.

That’s all.

Not inspiring. Not good. Not bad. Not thinky.

Just pretty.

Like this:

I have no idea what this is. I don’t know if it has some major sort of significance or represents something of importance, I just thought it was neat, dangling down from the ceiling over a pond. I liked the way it was suspended over water that glittered with coins at the bottom of the basin, coins that filled the water with hopes and dreams and wishes that were transferred onto them from the warm hands of museum goers who still believe that small bits of magic, like tossing a coin in a fountain to make your wish come true, can exist.

Or, you know, whatever.

Pretty.

One Response to “it’s like, art…and stuff.”

  1. mary March 2, 2010 at 11:37 AM #

    Andy!! You Goonie!!

Leave a Reply

