csb: FAIL

20 Jan

Interwebs.

I have failed you.

I’m sorry.

I know today is the 20th, and if you follow this blog at all, you may remember that today is supposed to be the day that I post my baking adventure of the month for my Secret Interwebs Baking Club, the Cake Slice Bakers.

Except I didn’t have any baking adventures this month.

I mean, I did. I certainly did, what with the holidays a few weeks back and all. I just didn’t happen to have a baking adventure specifically to the CSB. Which is a shame, because this month’s cake was a red velvet.

And I do so love a red velvet cake. The best one I’ve ever had? EVER? The red velvet cupcake from Georgetown Cupcake. I do believe I swooned when I first tasted the cream cheese frosting. And after I came to I passed out again at the delectability of the cake. It is beyond words besides simply: delicious.

I’m not really sure what makes red velvet so special, or why I consider the perfect creation of it to be so elusive. Maybe it’s because the chef at the restaurant where I used to hostess once confessed that of all the things he’s baked, a perfect red velvet cake is something he’s never been able to achieve. Maybe I then projected his awe and wonder and slight fear of the cake onto myself. And maybe THAT is why I never got around to baking this month’s CSB challenge.

Or maybe I was just distracted by shiny objects and vodka gimlets.

What?

I’m drunk!

No, I’m not.

Sorry.

So, yeah, no cake this month. But I will do my damndest to get back on track for next month! Just as soon as this wicked cold of mine clears up, because it’s gross and in the past 2 days I’ve spent over $40 on various and sundry cold remedies and while I think I’ve found a winner with Aleve-D (which you KNOW has got to be good because you have to sign for it at the pharmacy) and have been Neti Pot-ing the shit out of my sinuses, I’m hesitant to make any prediction of When I Will Be Better.

Ah, those halcyon days of breathing through my nose.

One Response to “csb: FAIL”

  1. Monica h January 21, 2010 at 2:20 AM #

    Aw, sorry your’re sick! I swear the neti pot works but the last time I was sick it didn’t. Nothing was getting past that gunk last time. It was awful!

    Anyway I think you may need a little red velvet cake to make you feel better. This cake was awesome if you frost it with cream cheese! You caould always make it for Valentine’s Day.

    Hope you feel better.

Leave a Reply

