merry new year

1 Jan

Oh, hey! How’s it going? Good, good, glad to hear…what’s that? You’ve been wondering where I’ve been? Yeah, sorry ‘bout that. I was very busy being in Chicago with my family and friends and eating my weight in egg dishes and (of course) pizza.* So busy, and with not so much regular computer access, that I didn’t even have time to blog.

I know.

You missed me.

I promise it won’t happen again.

Well, unless I go on vacation again. Which isn’t until March.

So we’re good until March!

Unless I get distracted.

Shiny things!
What?

SO! It’s 2010, and wee-haw, that means it’s a hella new year, people. This is a good thing. 2009 was kind of, well, it was kind of…kind of. For me, personally, it was not the best of years, nor was it the worst of years, but it certainly was A Year. A lot of it involved many several things that were not full of The Awesome but more happened around me than to me, and that I didn’t (and probably won’t) talk about on this here blog for many several reasons, but trust me when I tell you two things: A) The end of 2009 was much better all around than the beginning of 2009, and 2) Looking back over the last 12 months, there was a lot that I let slide, including – and especially – my Fantasy Football league. And I’m not happy about that. (Mainly because at one point my lack of involvement in my team resulted in consternation for the rest of the league, and I do not like being the cause of consternation.) So, my dear Interwebers, I shall declare right now that barring extenuating circumstances, I will Try To Do Better This Year. And I Am Determined Not To Let Things Slide. And I will start by NOT joining a Fantasy Football league next season. It’s for the best.

Every year I like to write up a list of things I’d like to accomplish…goals, if you will. (The term “resolution” is just something aching to be broken and defied, in my opinion.) I accomplished with flying colors a whole lot of very little when it came to the goals I’d set for myself at the beginning of 2009. The goals I did manage to punch out mainly revolved around the financial sector of my life, which, really, let’s be honest, is pretty fucking awesome, if I do say so myself. And I do. Though of course, there is still more work to do, new financial goals to be had, but that’s good. Those kinds of goals are incredibly satisfying. To me, at least.

(And in my opinion, there should always be more work to do, in general, otherwise This Girl gets B.O.R.E.D.) (Which is really not good. REALLY.)

For 2009, one of the goals I had that I had a decidedly flagrant disregard for accomplishing was running a 5K, 8K, and a 10K. I did none of those things! In fact, I bailed on every race I verbally agreed to run with friends of mine! I am awesome!

So what have I done for 2010? Yeah, that’s right, I put that goal back on the list.

And then decided to also add the goal of doing a sprint triathlon.

BECAUSE APPARENTLY WHEN I AM ON VACATION I GET BORED AND GET DRUNK ON DEEP DISH PIZZA AND COME UP WITH INSANE THOUGHTS THAT I THEN TELL THE INTERWEBS.

What else is on my list? In my quest to visit every state in the U.S., I also want to cross two new states off my “Visited” list. I’ve already got half of it planned with a trip to Alaska in March. I’m hoping state #2 will be Delaware.

Who doesn’t love Delaware?

I don’t know.

Because I’ve never been there.

There are a few other vague thoughts I’m considering adding to my list of goals to accomplish, but I’m just not sure that I really want to commit to them just yet. So while I ponder those over, why don’t you tell me what’s on your list of 2010 goals?

If you need me, I’ll just be over here, signing up for free brochures about The First State and asking myself who the shit I think I am because what makes me think I can swim  half of a mile in open water when I can’t even get out of the swimming pool at my gym without injuring myself?

Welcome, 2010.

Welcome.

*In general, if ever there is a long absence of me blogging, it is probably safe to assume that it is because I am in Chicago and very busy doing Chicago-y things like yelling “DA BEARS!” at passersby and staring at my nephew. Not that staring at my nephew is a Chicago-y thing, it’s just my latest form of entertainment when I come home for a visit.

What?

Oh, right. Like you wouldn’t stare at him either.

DA BEARS!

2 Responses to “merry new year”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. this one’s for you, cass « McPolish.com - February 2, 2010

    […] is what it cost me to get into the league in the first place. So I’m happy to say that my first—and last—season of Fantasy Football was a success. And by success I mean a […]

  2. listical « McPolish.com - December 8, 2010

    […] course, I’m all about making my own lists this time of year. I just checked out the goal list I set for 2010, and I’m happy to report that I accomplished very few of my goals I’d stated before you all. […]

Leave a Reply

