because who doesn’t love a casserole?

9 Dec

Have I mentioned that I’m on a sausage kick lately?

Haaaaaaa……I said sausage.

Sorry.

Ahem. ANYWAY, nothing says, “HAPPY HOLIDAYS!” to me like massive amounts of sausage.

Haaaaaaa…..there I go again.

I’m sorry! I just couldn’t help myself.

Let me start over. I recently made an egg-sausage casserole that is smothered with cheese for a party.

BAH. Come on, people, you and I both know that’s like the most boring intro ever. Wasn’t it much more fun when I was tapping into my inner 12-year-old and giggling about the word “sausage”? Yeah…I thought so, too.

Maybe we should just move on to the photos.

It really is the easiest casserole to make. And so full of deliciousness and memories. The Strzelecki family has it every Christmas morning when we are done oohing and ahhing over presents and we’ve ravaged through our stockings that are hung by the fireplace not necessarily with care, but definitely with intentions of being stuffed with goodies. It (the casserole, that is, not the stockings. We’re back to the casserole now) can even be made the night before and shoved in the fridge. (If you go this route, let it stand at room temp for about an hour. I’m not really sure why. That’s just what my mom does and MOM IS NEVER WRONG ABOUT THIS LISTEN TO YOUR MOTHER SHE MAY BE CRAZY BUT SHE KNOWS FROM CASSEROLES.) (Actually, that’s probably a lie. She’s not all that crazy. And my mother could probably give two shits about casseroles, but this particular one she’s been making for…hmm…how long? Lessee….add the 5…carry the 7….439 years. So she at least knows from this casserole.)

So first, butter some bread on both sides, then cube it and put it in the bottom of a pan. If you don’t you will RUIN. CHRISTMAS.


Next, brown some pork sausage – in this case I used savory sage flavor, but I’ve used hot or just regular in other instances, which is just as tasty. Drain the fat off the pork sausage, and snicker a bit about the word sausage.

Haaaaa…..sausage…..

Spread the sausage on top of the cubed bread.

Then, mix up some eggs and some other things. Like milk. (Though for this one I had some heavy whipping cream laying around, so I used a cup of that and a cup of skim milk.) And salt and pepper. And, for some unknown reason, dry mustard. (Why dry mustard? I don’t know. But that’s what the recipe says. LISTEN TO YOUR MOTHER’S RECIPE DAMMIT AND DON’T ASK QUESTIONS HAPPY BIRTHDAY BABY JESUS.) Dump the mix on top of the bread and sausage.

And finally, and this is super-important, throw some shredded cheese on top of it. The original recipe apparently called for a mere 4 ounces of cheese, but, as my mom pointed out, who doesn’t like things cheesy? So just go for the full bag of cheese and be done with it, people. Listen to Kathleen. You’ll be glad you did.


Bake it for about an hour at 350, then slice it and serve it and enjoy your cheesy, eggy goodness, and even if you don’t like eggs you will probably still like this casserole. Sister #3 detests eggs and egg-like dishes but she lurvs this. Christmas morning is the one time of year that she will eat eggs and by God, it’s a Christmas miracle, praise to the newborn king and pass the bread in a can, please. (But that’s another recipe for another time.)

For the longest time, this recipe was called by its very boring name of “Egg Sausage Casserole.” But then Sister #2 got married and Sister #1 decided that it would be a good idea to put together a family cookbook for Sister #2, which meant that this recipe was officially re-named so as to reflect its place in our lives. The recipe that follows is how my mother passed it along to Sister #1, verbatim.

“Nice Goin’ You Ruined Christmas Egg Casserole”

5 slices of bread

1 lb pork sausage

six eggs (maybe more!)

2 cups milk

salt

pepper

dry mustard

8 oz cheese

(this is exactly how MUTHER gave this recipe to me, I’m not kidding)

butter 5 slices of bread on both sides and cube

put in the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan

brown 1 lb of pork sausage and drain off the grease, put on top of bread cubes

beat 5 or 6 eggs – maybe more (?? How can you tell for Pete’s sake?) with the 2 cups of milk in a blender—add salt, pepper and dry mustard to taste

pour over pork sausage and bread cubes

sprinkle 4 oz of cheese over the top—I probably use closer to 8 oz of grated cheese since everyone likes it cheesy

Do this part on Christmas Eve afternoon before you go out visiting and opening presents….don’t wait until you come home because you’re too tired and if you still have little kids you probably still have presents to wrap and anyway you have to get to bed so Santa Claus can come Christmas morning, when dad gets up first to enjoy some peace and quiet

Remove from the refrigerator and let stand 1 hour

When the kids get up and you begin opening presents, bake @ 350° for 1 hour—if it takes over an hour to open your presents you got too much!

Thanks, Mutherrr, for the casserole recipe and words of wisdom. And aren’t you proud that your baby girl managed to talk about Christmas morning traditions and make lame innuendos about sausage all in one go? Bet you’re pretty excited now about all that money you spent on my education. You’re welcome.

4 Responses to “because who doesn’t love a casserole?”

  1. Cassie December 9, 2009 at 5:30 PM #

    I didn’t think it was possible, but now I love Lil’ Kath just a wee bit more. I love that she tells you to make it Christmas Eve afternoon, because you have to go to bed so that Dad can enjoy some peace and quiet. Ha!

    My mom makes something similar, but I think she puts onions and other veggies in, which kind of ruin it. I mean, I like cheesy broccoli, but not in my egg and sausage (hee) caserole.

  2. Molly December 9, 2009 at 5:50 PM #

    You know how Big Stan loves his peace and quiet…. Such a rarity in our house.

  3. Aunt Becky December 10, 2009 at 6:34 PM #

    Dude. I am eating this and when I need Lipator I am thanking you. Because it looks divine.

  4. Molly December 10, 2009 at 10:56 PM #

    Woman, you will not regret one bite of it. TRUST ME.

Leave a Reply

