read

18 Nov

A few years ago I decided to keep track of the books I read over the course of a year. It’s varied in number year to year, and looking back over what I’ve read this year, I’d like to say it’s varied in variety, but, um, I can’t really. Seems This Girl did a lot of Chick-Lit reading over the past 12 months. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. I certainly don’t see anything wrong with it, anyway. You read what you want to read, right? After years of struggling through books when I should have just stopped reading them after page 12, I have finally accepted this in my life. For the most part. With an exception or two. (Because sometimes you just hope! The next page! It will be better! Please! PLEASE!! GET BETTER!)  If I pick up a book, and I don’t actually enjoy reading it, I will put it down. A novel idea, I know!

OMG, no pun intended.

Anyway, for those of you who are curious to see what I’ve read over these 12 months, or those of you who are looking for something to read, here you go. My reading list from November 13, 2008-November 12, 2009. Note the wonky use of asterisks in a totally bass-ackwards system. I swear I’ll revise it for next year. And no, RHW, I did not take your advice and just blow through the entire Twilight series before moving on to books that will make me feel better about myself as a reader. My fragile brain felt far too soft and flaky after the first one, I had to read something else before starting New Moon. And Eclipse and Breaking Dawn? Yeah, I’m just going to have to save those for this coming year, lest my brain completely implode at the silliness and awful writingness of it all and leak out my ears because even though they are so, so, so incredibly poorly written, I can’t seem to stop reading these goddamned books.

Anyway. The List. Enjoy.

  1. Bloodsucking Fiends – Christopher Moore***
  2. Four to Score – Janet Evanovich
  3. Tell Me if the Lovers are Losers – Cynthia Voight
  4. High Five –  Janet Evanovich
  5. Things I’ve Learned From Women Who’ve Dumped Me – Edited by Ben Karlin***
  6. Boomsday – Christopher Buckley
  7. The Perfect 10 – Louise Keane
  8. Hot Six – Janet Evanovich*
  9. American Wife – Curtis Sittenfeld
  10. But Enough About Me ­– Jancee Dunn***
  11. Deep Dish – Mary Kay Andrews
  12. Sand Castles – Rita Mae Brown
  13. Savannah Breeze – Mary Kay Andrews
  14. Forever Princess – Meg Cabot
  15. Last Bite – Nancy Verde Barr**
  16. ‘Tis the Season!  – Lorna Landvik
  17. Supreme Courtship – Christopher Buckley
  18. Very Valentine – Adriana Trigiani
  19. How Dolly Parton Saved My Life – Charlotte Connors
  20. Sleeping With the Fishes – MaryJanice Davidson
  21. Swimming Without a Net – MaryJanice Davidson
  22. Hello, Gorgeous! ­– MaryJanice Davidson
  23. Dead Over Heels – MaryJanice Davidson
  24. Roommates Wanted: Until You Fall In Love – Lisa Jewell
  25. Elements of Style – Wendy Wasserstein
  26. Fish Out of Water – MaryJanice Davidson
  27. sTORI Tellinlg – Tori Spelling*** (YES I TOTALLY LIKED THIS BOOK.)
  28. Eat, Pray, Love – Elizabeth Gilbert***
  29. The View From Mount Joy – Lorna Landvik
  30. The Faraday Girls – Monida McInerney***
  31. Comfort Food – Kate Jacobs
  32. Undead and Unwelcome – MaryJanice Davidson
  33. Little Pink Slips – Sally Koslow***
  34. One-Hit Wonder – Lisa Jewell***
  35. Twilight – Stephanie Meyer
  36. Friday Night Knitting Club – Kate Jacobs
  37. New Moon – Stephanie Meyer
  38. The Fixer Upper- Mary Kay Andrews
  39. Schooled – Anisha Lakhani
  40. My Latest Grievance – Elinore Lipman* and ***
  41. Seven Up – Janet Evanovich*
  42. Secrets of a Shoe Addict – Beth Harbison***
  43. I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence – Amy Sedaris***
  44. Italian for Beginners – Kristin Harmel
  45. Alphabet Weekends – Elizabeth Noble***

 

 

 

 

*Denotes audiobook

**Did not think it was very good.

***Recommended

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “read”

  1. Sandi Oh November 20, 2009 at 9:18 PM #

    Oh.my.g. you are too funny….so funny, that I can overlook the fact you don’t eat cake on a daily basis. Yes, I too know that cakes have butts…I was in fact, talking to mine today when I realized that talking to cake butts might not be a good indicator to the status of my mental health. Oh well, looking forward to next month’s cake.

  2. mollystrz November 20, 2009 at 10:29 PM #

    Sandi, if there is something wrong with talking to cake butts then I don’t want to be right.

  3. Alicia November 20, 2009 at 11:22 PM #

    Too funny! But you got there in the end and I bet it tasted good 🙂

Leave a Reply

