it’s just part of what makes me…um…me.

5 Nov

Here are McPolish we love food.

Have you noticed?

We love everything about food: making it, looking at it, reading about it, taking pictures of it, eating it, giving it to other people to eat, shopping for it, smelling it, touching it, talking about it obsessively at inappropriate moments.

And by we I mean me.

I. Am. McPolish!

And I. Love. Macaroni and Cheese!

Even the kind from the box.

With hot dogs.

 

hot dogs and kraftI tried to be classy once.

 

 

pan of mac

It didn’t take.

 

I can’t really explain why I love the stuff from the box so much. I’ve had better. Much better. I’ve had ooey, gooey, deliciously cheesarifically better mac’n’cheese. Exquisite dishes made with creamy goat cheese or sharp white cheddars. Rotund noodles with crevices dripping with muenster or Colby jack. And this boxed stuff? I should be sick of it, having eaten it just about every Monday night for years on end while my mom was in grad school, the dinner duties left up to my oldest sister. Endless Monday nights of the same thing: hot dogs, boxed macaroni and cheese, and fruit cocktail, making sure that everyone got one cherry in her fruit dish. Because the cherries were the best part of the fruit cocktail.

Logically, I’ve eaten so much of it over the course of my lifetime that it should make me want to yarf in my mouth a little.

But it doesn’t.

It makes me happy.

So does the good stuff.

I guess I’m just not all that particular, when it comes to mac’n’cheese.

But so you know that I do have some taste in me, now would probably be a good time to share with you my new favorite homemade mac’n’cheese recipe. What I like about this recipe is that it doesn’t have any of those stupid breadcrumbs on top. Breadcrumbs are the one thing about homemade mac’n’cheese that I don’t like. If you put breadcrumbs on top, you are ruining your mac’n’cheese, ruining it, I say.

This recipe comes to me from my friend Coco, who is one of The Allison Girls. The Allison Girls are friends of the family who we have known since forever. Which is a really, really, REALLY long time. In essence, they are simply extensions of my own sisters, which means when we all get together there are nine girls running around squawking and singing show tunes, 11 if you count moms, too, though they don’t really sing. My dad and Mr. Allison just sort of wander off into any other room that is empty and quiet to sit in silence and hope to God none of us finds them. Coco made this at our Christmas gathering a couple years ago, and I think it is simply delicious. She says it’s a Paula Deen recipe that she doctored up a smidge, and God Bless Coco for it. Her are her directions as emailed to me:

4 cups cooked elbow macaroni (1 box cooked is usually about right)

2 cups grated cheddar

1 cup grated Muenster (I usually buy a block and grate it myself – I don’t really measure since it’s cheese and you can never have too much in my eyes)

3 eggs, beaten

½ cup sour cream

4 tablespoons butter, cut into pieces

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Once you have the macaroni cooked and drained, place in a large bowl and while still hot add the cheddar. In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients (except Muenster) and add to the macaroni mixture. Pour macaroni mixture into a casserole dish and top with Muenster. Bake for 30 to 45 minutes.

YUM!

Coco

And it really is so very YUM. Don’t believe me? Are you kidding? THIS doesn’t look YUM! ?

 

mac and cheese

 

Yeah, that’s what I thought.

YUM!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

