the most boring channel ever. and cake!

7 Oct

Baby Watch! 2009! is still the most boring channel ever. Nothing is happening. This kid is never coming out. So I’ve decided to go to lunch with one of my other sisters while the pregnant one goes to the doctor so the doctor can confirm why yes, yes indeed, your child is not going to be born until, oh, 2012, because he’s just that comfortable in your womb.

But in the meantime, have some cake!

My best gal, happens to be a funeral director, and is in love with another funeral director, which is good since they got married this weekend. And as funeral directors are wont to be, they are incredibly fun, party-type people who like the whimsy. Hence, the cake at their rehearsal dinner:

cake

Yeah, it was pretty awesome. And freakin’ tasty, too. Who knew death could be so delicious?

urn cake

This top urn cake was almond with apricot filling.

casket cake

This bottom casket cake was chocolate banana cake with peanut butter mousse filling. Would you just LOOK at the DETAIL on this thing? Clever, I tell you. There is nothing better than clever cake.

Casket and urn cake courtesy of The Cake Girls right here in Chicago.

5 Responses to “the most boring channel ever. and cake!”

  1. Monica h October 20, 2009 at 11:32 PM #

    ha ha! this is so funny!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. words to live by « McPolish.com - November 12, 2009

    […] | Tags: photos, booze, friendship, friends, good times | Leave a Comment  Remember when I was a bridesmaid in October? Good times. As my gift, my best gal gave me a bag of goodies she knew I would love because, well, […]

  2. photo friday: pets « McPolish.com - July 16, 2010

    […] so in place of a photo about a pet, you get a photo of a cake and a story about the woman whose cake it was, and her former […]

  3. bite me « McPolish.com - January 23, 2012

    […] Swede and I spent New Year’s Eve as we have the past two years, drinking and talking smack with some of our favorite friends, the funeral directors. […]

  4. photo friday: cake, please | McPolish.com - March 8, 2013

    […] now, NOW! Now I’ve got two more makings under my belt. See, Mare Beh Beh of the Funeral Directors texted me last week and she was all, “Woman. Can you make a rice krispie […]

Leave a Reply

