dad is great….gives us chocolate cake…gunguh dun, gunguh dun, gunguh dun

12 Aug

Cake 2

I made this to ensure I’d have Sunday off from the golf club. I am not above bribing my coworkers with baked goods. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. And let me be clear that this cake is from scratch, as is the frosting. I don’t F around when it comes to my days off.

PS – first person to tell me where the title of this post comes from gets a batch of the cookies of their choice made by yours truly.

6 Responses to “dad is great….gives us chocolate cake…gunguh dun, gunguh dun, gunguh dun”

  1. manogirl August 12, 2009 at 1:04 PM #

    Bill Cosby, Himself. LOVE. IT.

  2. mollystrz August 12, 2009 at 1:14 PM #

    DING! DING! DING! Manogirl, you win! Please email your address and cookie preference to mcpolish1@gmail.com. 🙂

  3. Cassie August 12, 2009 at 1:31 PM #

    Bill Cosby Himself!

    “And my wife’s face… Split. In half. and she said ‘where did they get chocolate cake!?! Where!?!’ and my children turned on me. They said ‘we asked for eggs and milk and dad made us eat this!'”

    Damn Mano beat me to the punch, though. It’s not fair. Her job puts her at an advantage to answering in a timely fashion.

  4. Cassie August 12, 2009 at 1:32 PM #

    I forgot to mention that fire shot from her eye sockets before she starts yelling at him. 🙂

  5. allison August 12, 2009 at 2:40 PM #

    yes, Bryan was just singing this song from The Cosby Show when I asked what he would feed our son if I were to go out of town for the weekend.Unfortunately, little guy is allergic to nuts so no chocolate for him. Dad is great, he gives us all-natural vanilla cake just doesn’t have the same ring! looks so yummy!!

  6. Nora August 12, 2009 at 11:47 PM #

    I love Bill Cosby, Himself! “It was because of my father that from the ages of seven to fifteen, I thought that my name was Jesus Christ and my brother, Russell, thought that his name was Dammit. “Dammit, will you stop all that noise?” And, “Jesus Christ, sit down!” One day, I’m out playing in the rain, and my father yelled, “Dammit will you get back in here!” I said, “Dad, I’m Jesus Christ!” Also, “Jeffrey, come here. Jeffrey, sit down. Jeffrey, be quiet.” Hence the name of your Rome suitecase–Jeffrey.
    P.S. I want a slice of that cake immediately. Can you make it and bring it to Anne’s wedding? Along with some chicken?

Leave a Reply

