bor-ring!

10 Aug

I like to read the money section of MSN sometimes, because they have sometimes have good articles about handling and dealing with money and money issues, something that I know I, personally sometimes struggle with and that the country these days could use a lesson on, too.

So I’m reading this article, a nice little fluff piece about how you could pick up an extra $100 a month or so, and there are comments pulled from various message boards, one of which is a commenter noting that s/he waits tables a couple nights a week, and “It’s a pretty boring second job, but I can make $50 to $100 per week, and I can always find the extra work.” As I first read it, I nodded my head, because yup, it’s the best way I’ve found to make some extra cash. But then I read the comment again and was all, “Wait…the hell?”

“It’s a pretty boring second job….”

For serious?

Where is this person a waiter/waitress? At a restaurant for coma patients? Because I’ve had my share of side jobs, and being a waitress would not even crack the list of “Boring Second Jobs.” (Unglamorous, maybe. But not boring.) It is, actually, one of the most interesting. It is, actually, a study in human behavior. You can learn a lot about a person just watching how they act when they are at a restaurant, how they treat their server—it has nothing to do with how they tip (though let’s be honest, THAT HELPS), but has everything to do with how they interact with other people in the restaurant, both employees and their dinner guests.

And as if that wasn’t enough, need I remind you about blazing nights and mystery bands?

I will be the first to tell you that working in any role in any sort of industry that deals primarily in some sort of aspect of customer service you will encounter some funky shit and realize that not a small amount of the population loses their minds when they interact with the public at large. And in restaurants, it seems to be a special breed of crazy, and thus only the occasional night could even remotely be considered “boring.”

And when that happens? When a night is actually boring, client-wise? Well, restaurant people are notoriously inappropriate and a bit randy and have learned to make things like rolling silverware in napkins anything but blasé.

Leave a Reply

