brilliant monkey

5 Aug

Pirate MonkeySo as I may have mentioned, Sister #1 is due with Baby #1 this October. Last weekend we threw her a baby shower, and months ago, when we were in planning stages, I announced that I would make cupcakes for the dessert portion.

“What kind of cupcakes do you like?” I asked.

“I like vanilla bean cake…with vanilla bean frosting,” Sister #1 responded after a moment. And then she sort of drifted off, and I pictured her staring dreamily into space as she continued in a spacey voice, “And I like monkeys….and pirates….”

To which I was all, “Um, okay, I’m not really sure how that fits in with cupcakes.”

So the above is the best I could do.* It’s not a monkey pirate cupcake, but it is much, much cuter. And won’t be all moldy by the time the baby gets here.

*Thanks again to Cassie, who is the one who actually made the sock monkey pirate. You can find more of her awesome creations here.
One Response to “brilliant monkey”

  1. Dedot August 5, 2009 at 10:12 AM #

    nicely…

Leave a Reply

