Experiment

27 May

Vanilla bean cupcakesSister #1 has decided that she would like vanilla bean stuffedcakes with vanilla bean buttercream frosting* for an upcoming party. This is my first experiment with such a food item, which turned out pretty well. The frosting was great – tastes just like melted vanilla ice cream – but I think the cake needs some work. It was good, but it could be better. Lighter. Fluffier. Cupcakier.

Back to the kitchen I go.

*Note – thanks to my friend Ashley, I discovered my new favorite place to get spices on the cheap: World Market. Under $3, most of them! Whole vanilla beans, too! Sister #2 also swears by the Spanish grocery market near her, but alas, there isn’t one close to me. (That I know of.)

One Response to “Experiment”

  1. harcoutbreton June 3, 2009 at 11:11 PM #

    not bad for an experiment… these cupcakes look delicious… well done…

Leave a Reply

