Four-Part Harmony

14 May

Last weekend we had the first Crab Day (CRAB DAY!!) of the season. Crab Day is a ritual for us: driving out to Mike’s on the Severn River, ordering a platter of Maryland blue crabs, an array of appetizers, and a bucket of beer – Corona to be exact. I don’t actually eat the crab, so my Crab Day feast usually consists of a hamburger and fries, or a fried chicken sandwich and fries, and it works for me, and this way my hands are free and clean to snap pictures of my gal pals picking crabs and pointing out crab wangs because we may be in our 30s but really we are 12 and sucking meat from the legs or scraping out the mustard.

 For this inaugural Crab Day (CRAB DAY!!) of the season, my friend Megan lovingly compiled a mix CD and made copies for all of us. And now after three days of listening to the CD on repeat, it’s become official that this CD will be the soundtrack of my early summer. Playlist as follows:

 My Life Would Suck Without You – Kelly Clarkson

San Francisco – Brett Dennan

Turn on Billie – The Pierces

Love Lockdown – Kanye West

Viva la Vida – Coldplay

Kids – MGMT

Tonight – Lykke Li

American Boy – Estelle

This is Not a Test – She and Him

He Doesn’t Know Why – Fleet Foxes

Bookworm – Margot and the Nuclear So and Sos

The Kids Don’t Stand a Chance – Vampire Weekend

Sex on Fire – Kings of Leon

Fake Plastic Trees – Radiohead

People Got a Lotta Nerve – Neko Case

Single Ladies – Beyonce

Devil Town – Bright Eyes

Big Jumps – Emiliana Torrini

Megan is a musicphile and is one of my go-to people when I’m in need of new music. She just knows what’s good and what’s new and interesting and where she finds all this stuff, I don’t really know. And neither does she, because I asked her about it in the car out to Crab Day. She vaguely mentioned Pandora and another site, but beyond that, it seemed a mystery to her, too, where she found these great tunes that have become soundtracks for various and sundry events and time periods in my life.

What’s on your playlist these days?

Leave a Reply

