Calling It

9 Apr

Technically, Lent ends tonight, which I did not know until recently. (I said I was Catholic. I never said I was a good Catholic or a smart Catholic.) Normally, I’ve always waited out any Lenten promises until Easter Sunday, because…well, A) because I didn’t know that I didn’t have to, and 2) when I did know, what’s a couple more days, really? I’ve already come this far, right?

But this year, I’m totally calling it – Lent is ending for This Girl at sundown on Friday night.

It is for selfish reasons, to be honest. After the last couple of weeks, all I want to do is have a Friday night that contains the following elements: sitting on my couch, watching the shows on TLC, maybe a glass of wine, and a brownie. Doesn’t that sound amazing? I think so. And I don’t want to wait until Sunday, or even Saturday, because work and other things are going on and all I want are a few uninterrupted hours of peace and sweets to myself, for my sanity.

I do feel a little guilty, but I think that’s more out of habit than anything else. I do feel a little like I’ve run a distance race and but then stopped 25 feet before the finish line and walked away. But I do feel like if I don’t let myself have this give, I’m going to regret it later.

So if anybody needs me tomorrow night, I’ll be the girl lounging around at home rejoicing the Easter season in brownies and red wine.

2 Responses to “Calling It”

  1. Barb April 9, 2009 at 8:17 AM #

    A few years back, my roommates and I all gave up stuff for Lent. We also determined that it ended Friday–at 3, the time on Good Friday when Jesus actually died. (You know, because obviously we know this TO THE HOUR.) We went a little nuts that night.

  2. Anne April 9, 2009 at 9:24 AM #

    Actually, it ends tonight at sundown so…do with that what you will.

Leave a Reply

