Five Servings a Day

1 Apr

carrots

For one of the first Tuesday Night Dinners I ever hosted at my apartment, I made roasted carrots*, and my friend HO fell in love with them. While I think they are quite tasty and enjoy eating them, HO goes f-ing ga-ga for them, which is fine by me because then she thinks I’m A Good Person and is indebted to me for all time simply for making this simple dish. Okay, maybe not all time, but she’s really nice to me for at least two weeks afterwards.

*They are super simple to make: Using either baby carrots or regular carrots you’ve peeled and cut into about 1 inch pieces, toss them with olive oil, salt, and dill (dried or fresh). Pepper if you feel like it. Throw them on a cookie sheet, set the oven somewhere between 375 and 400 degrees, and roast until they are tender. And that’s for about, oh, I don’t know, 30 minutes? Maybe longer, maybe less. Whatever your preference.

Leave a Reply

